Quote

Spicy food? I’ll pass.

I try to avoid spicy food. When I am with a group, I make it known that I am not really tolerant of hot food, and generally they respect that. Following that, spicy food is ordered, along with ‘normal’ food. Along with such food, I eat a supplement dish to calm the spice, such as rice.

A couple of nights ago, I went to eat dinner with my classmates and our teachers. We went to a Sichuan style restaurant. Sichuan Province has some of the spiciest food in China.

1.pic_hd

I mainly ate rice the whole meal. The food was really spicy. Even if a dish looks safe and inviting, I was wrong. I learned quickly to just eat rice and kong pao chicken, which also had chillies but you could avoid them.

The night was enjoyable. It was right before bible study, so I had to leave a bit early. We were done with the meal anyway.

I hope we will have dinner together again soon, hopefully with a different selection of food.

My class has 2 Brits, 1 Scot, 1 Thai, 3 Germans, 1 Aussie, 1 Japanese, 1 Russian, 1 Korean, and 2 Americans (including myself). The 2 teachers are obviously Chinese. My Chinese class is generally a good selection of students.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Ring of Fire.”

高丹玉

Leave a Reply

